My Conversion Story: How I Didn’t Become a Soldier

Posted on July 31, 2015

0


As classroom teachers, we never know which seeds we’ve planted will bloom–and IF they do, we don’t know when it will happen or how. We just do our best each day to live the vision, not only in our teaching, but also in each interaction with others in the school community.

Some seeds take root, grow, blossom, and bear fruit, and, as teachers, we are privileged to play a small role in nurturing great trees that provide nourishment, shade, and pleasure to many.

The blog that I share today is the story of a “tree of Peace” that took root in the heart of a student, Chris Matthias, long ago, and that has sent roots and branches around the world and across generations through his work as a peace activist.

Chris is not only a former student; he is one of my dearest friends, and I am proud and delighted to share “My Conversion Story: How I Didn’t Become A Soldier,” the piece he wrote when I asked him to write something on the topic of mentoring. Thanks, Chris, for writing a beautiful piece and for being a beautiful friend!

