2017 Reader’s Journal & Invitation

Posted on January 17, 2017

4


I’m joining my colleagues  in education who keep track of their reading, like Beth Shaum, and Kevin English. I don’t think I’ll be able to read 500 books per year, but I do have a rich reading life that shapes my thinking, my behavior, and my professional and personal life.

As a Literature teacher, I’m a bit unusual, in that I prefer to read nonfiction. Because the school district where I teach has adopted a new curriculum that requires Independent Reading for students K-12, I have begun reading many YA books, so that I can make good recommendations and have informed conversations about developmentally-appropriate books with my high school students. I have created a slide show of YA titles to share with students, but this journal is for my “adult reading.” While students may find some of these titles interesting, they are not written for young readers. The reading represented here illustrates my personal and professional development beyond the classroom.

I started this journal over Winter Break, 2016, and I will add to it as I finish new titles in 2017. I’m looking forward to seeing how my reading identity develops this year. I invite other readers to join me in keeping a reading journal; I’d love to add yours to this post and watch them grow!

lisa’s 2017 Reading Journal

dscn9963

My Garden, Summer 2016

