Going Public with Teacher Research

Posted on February 4, 2017

0


Sharing our research is one of the most satisfying experiences of teacher research, because teaching so seldom provides us with an adult audience who can think with us about our questions.

Sharing our research often acts like a catalyst on our work, as responses from participants bring new perspectives, experiences, and resources to explore. It may lead to collaboration with other researchers–and more opportunities to share the research.

By considering the following questions, I take my research from page to stage.

Who is my audience?

With what lenses/stances am I viewing the research: teacher, parent, admin, community member, writer, reader, etc? How are these tailored to my audience?

What is the purpose of presentation: share process, seek feedback, share discoveries, make an argument, invite participation, model an approach, celebrate success, raise questions, advocate for a change?

What is the format: workshop, panel, co-presentation, solo presentation, Q&A, etc?

What “slices” of the research will be featured/emphasized?

What bumper sticker slogan can summarize my main idea?

What EXPERIENCE will I facilitate for participants?

What information do participants need to be able to get the most out of the experience?

What format will be most helpful–IRL or digital? A combination to allow choice?

How will I organize my time?

What can I have on hand if I need more material?

What can I skip if I need to speed up to end on time?

What issues might arise that may require caution: permission, confidentiality, sensitive subjects, audience-appropriateness, possible triggers. How can I be “safe, smart, and savvy” in what and how I share?

What resources will I provide for participants? Hard copy? Online?

What, if any, feedback do I want from my audience? How can I collect feedback?

How can participants contact me for more info/to converse further?

How will I practice my presentation?

How will I manage my nerves on presentation day?

What materials do I need to have in my bag on presentation day?

When will I sit down and reflect on what happened: the good, the bad, the ideas for next steps?

I wish you well on your presentation! You can reach me at lisagay.eddy1@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

