Searching and Springing

Posted on March 19, 2020

1


“He who hopes for spring with upturned eye never sees so small a thing as Draba. He who despairs of spring with downcast eye steps on it, unknowing. He who searches for spring with his knees in the mud finds it, in abundance.”

~~Aldo Leopold, A Sand County Almanac

20200315_094039

It’s spring in SE Lower MI. I see the signs: bulbs are popping; grass is greening. I’m spending hours in the garden while Sand Hill Cranes, Red-Wing Blackbirds, and Herons fly overhead. The Spring Peepers are singing in the marsh.

We’ve sprung forward–at first, much to my annoyance, because I was really enjoying that morning light–but I’ve adjusted. Time is getting on and feels different in Spring 2020. We’re practicing social distancing, isolation, quarantine, depending on our status in relation to the Corona virus. But the season cycle keeps turning, and the people have the opportunity to observe the signs of spring.

 


“Spring” can also mean “flight,” or “freedom.” Today I share an exquisite animation that explores several of the meanings of the word. Watching it brought back memories of my own flight from the nest at 18 and loved ones far away–some of whom wear scarves I’ve knitted for them, so that they can feel my love for them wherever they BE.

With many thanks for my former colleague, Madame Sheryl Moll, for introducing me to National Film Board of Canada back in the day when we worked together. I love their content.

Enjoy this lovely film, dear reader. Be well.

Winds of Spring

“Unfolding with the rhythm of the seasons, Winds of Spring tells the tender story of a young girl who, driven by the irrepressible need for self-fulfillment, decides to leave the family nest. Keyu Chen employs her signature style of fluid transitions and fine, spare lines inspired by Chinese ink painting in her delicately crafted first film.”


lisa eddy is a writer, researcher, educator, and advocate.

Find her on Twitter: @lisa_eddy

On email: lisagay.eddy1@gmail.com