Seasonal Work: A Poem 

Posted on April 11, 2024

0


April is Poetry Month! AND I wrote a poem recently!

Song lyrics, actually.

I was hiking. I was standing at the river’s edge, looking at the river, the woods, and the open field where deer were grazing.

The day before, my band mates and I had been playing J.J. Cale’s “Cajun Moon.” The words in my head were accompanied by the music to the song.

This song is a celebration of seasons. If you like, sing along!

I enjoyed selecting photos to accompany the verses. Each one brings back precious memories of an outdoor adventure.

Enjoy!

Seasonal Work 

I come to the woods on the first day of Spring.

Just have to hear the ancient river sing.

I hear the voice of my sweet mother dear.

She says, “My child, you’re always welcome here.” 

I come to the lake when summer comes around.

I feel big love for every being ‘round. 

High in the sky, Grandmother Moon.

Summer sunshine, you leave way too soon. 

I come to the campground when fall comes by, 

When the biting bugs have hit the dusty trail.

The autumn trees don their best festive wear.

Garden gives so much more than enough to share. 

I come to the trail when Ol’ Man Winter’s here

to learn the shape of my sweet mother dear,

to learn the lay of the Land I love..

Earth below and sky above. 

And now I see, just out beyond the trees,

Four grazing deer, they stop and stare at me.

They’re standing still, and so am I

With Mother Earth and Father Sky. 


lisa eddy (she/her) is a writer, outdoor educator, and musician. 

Email: lisagay.eddy1@gmail.com

Link to lisa’s FREE online book: Write Outside: Investigations of the Living Land